My CKAD Experience

·

2 min read

I recently passed the Certified Kubernetes Application Developer (CKAD) exam. I wanted to share a few tips that I think could be helpful to anyone else who is planning to take the exam.

Study materials:

In preparation for the exam, I used a variety of study materials,

These resources were invaluable in helping me to prepare for the exam and gain a deeper understanding of Kubernetes.

Learning Experience

During my CKAD exam, I used a 14-inch Macbook pro which had a small screen size, and a good portion of the header occupied the screen. I recommend using a bigger screen if possible to avoid any difficulties.

At one point during the exam, the Firefox window was too small, and the Find box didn't show up at all. I contacted tech support via live chat (without pausing the exam timer), and they were unhelpful. I tried tweaking the window size and finally, it worked. The 'Find' box appeared at the bottom of the Firefox window. I also made use of the 'kubectl explain' command which was very helpful.

I found it helpful to use a notepad to keep track of questions that I needed to look up and fix later. In the end, I had some time to revisit these questions and found that saving the YAML files with question numbers in the filename made it easier to find them. However, I did make a mistake by forgetting to run the context command, which I only realized after completing the tests.

Based on my experience, it's a good idea to thoroughly learn the CLI and some simple YAML formats, such as volumes and volume mounts. This can help avoid the need to constantly look up documentation during the exam.

Let me know if you have any questions!